A “scary” affair THIRD birthday!!!

Two weeks ago my dear darling Erin turned three and we had her “scary” Monsters Inc. party at our house.

Erin and I had been planning her party for months and she would ask me daily to put on my “puter” to see “monsters ideas” on Google. She absolutely LOVES Mike and Sulley and has watched the movie (both Inc and University) HUNDREDS of times.

I love party planning, but don’t get to do it often, so I thought for her third birthday I’d go ALL OUT, as this was the first one she could really engage in due to her understanding birthdays more now that she’s older.

I worked on the blue and green colour theme which worked really well on a dull FREEZING cold winter’s day. We had 45 people come to our house to celebrate and most of them sat inside as it was so so cold and cloudy (June baby).

DSC_8623

DSC_8628

DSC_8629

DSC_8633

DSC_8634

DSC_8685

The cake (and cupcakes) was made by my dear Candice from Pastry Angel and she exceeded all my expectations once again and the photos were taken by Catherine Scott Photography who took 300 of the most natural pictures I’ve ever seen, she captured the day so well (even though Erin is camera shy).

Kids activities:

  • Sand art supplied by my good friend Katya – the kids LOVED this
  • Coloring in station
  • Craft station with blue and green bits and bobs to be glued onto a paper plate, as well as stickers

Eats:

  • Blue and green fizzers, suckers and wonder bars
  • Pringles in “scare canisters”
  • Blue and green chocolate coated marshmallows
  • Cupcakes and cake (choc and vanilla)
  • Popcorn in blue and green boxes
  • Mike eyes (green fondant with a choc morsel on it)
  • Sushi
  • Quiches
  • Sausage rolls
  • Chic satay sticks

My sister in law, Natasha, is a fabulous artist so I gave her the task of painting Mike and Sulley, which Erin just adores and displayed in her bedroom, subsequent to the party. I didn’t do party packs but gave each parent a material bag before they left and said they could chose what their child takes home as a party pack. This way I don’t annoy anyone by providing too many or too few sweets 🙂

Thank you so much to everyone who joined in on the day and everyone who helped me make my angel’s third birthday a success. Erin wants to have a SHREK four birthday (luckily I have loads of green food colouring 🙂 )

_DSC0369

_DSC0372

DSC_8624

DSC_8625

DSC_8627

DSC_8630

DSC_8636

DSC_8889

DSC_8892

DSC_8932

DSC_8948

DSC_8957

DSC_8984DSC_8631DSC_8637DSC_8638DSC_8655DSC_8661DSC_8664DSC_8673

DSC_8678

DSC_8682

DSC_8684

DSC_8686

DSC_8688

DSC_8694

DSC_8698

DSC_8751

DSC_8759

DSC_8760

Leave a Reply

