For the love of gardening

My mum has always been a keen gardener and growing up I never really shared this passion.

But since I was about 27 (guess just after we’d owned our first house) the green fingers bug bit me.  I started  with a pot plant succulent (as nobody can kill a succulent) garden on our balcony of our flat. When we moved to a place with a small garden, I tried to keep that garden pretty too, although my schnauzer puppy would enjoy eating my plants. Now that we have a bigger garden, I REALLY LOVE seeing things grow, especially VEGGIES!

Jan 2016 1076

I started a very small veggie patch with a white steel fence around it, so that Harvey and Shera can stay out of it. Not much has come from this patch except these tiny carrots. I’m convinced the soil is bad, it seems like clay with loads of stones in it.

Jan 2016 1145

I then started with my pallet veggie garden project and after a week I had something (not sure what yet) sprouting, here’s what you need:

  • A pallet (new or used) – many shops have slightly broken pallets they are willing to give away. My husband has hundreds of slightly broken ones, contact me if you’d like some
  • 3 x 20kg bags of potting soil
  • 1 x 20kg bag of compost
  • 1 x 5kg bag of bone meal
  • Seeds (depending on season and how much sun your area has)
  • 2-3m weed mat / landscaping material
  • staple gun

I would suggest you chose an area with a lot of sun, as most veggies need loads of sun to thrive.  Also, start the project where your final garden will be, as you CANNOT move it once you have 80+kg in the pallet….

Steps:

  1. Put you pallet face down
  2. Stretch your weed mat over the side and bottom of the pallet and staple
  3. Staple weed mat to the other two open sides of the pallet
  4. Add your soil, mix in the bone meal
  5. Plant your seeds in rows. I planted one half and then another half a week later, so that I can harvest at different times
  6. Water daily and watch them grow!!

Jan 2016 1007 Jan 2016 1005

Note – you cannot plant veggies that require too much depth as you only have the depth of the pallet to grow. You also cannot grow anything that will be grow to fatter than the opening of the pallet, as then you can’t remove it once fully grown. Next time I would turn my pallet the other way round, as to allow more space for things to grow.  But I think this is a good first attempt, what do you think?

Jan 2016 1035 Jan 2016 1012 Jan 2016 1010

Thanks mummy for helping me with my pallet garden!!!

 

 

One thought on “For the love of gardening

Leave a Reply

