Tuku – Handmade Baby & toddler clothes

Tuku1

Anyone who knows we well knows I LOVE small businesses. I’m practically obsessed with finding small businesses and chatting to people who run their own business.  I think part of the reason is because Damien runs his own business (and I know how bloody hard it is) and another part of the reason is because The Grace Factory started off as a small NPO (and I know how bloody hard it is).

I met Kim at Adventure Boot Camp (my newest favorite craze). Kim run’s a small business called TUKU. She makes gorgeous baby & toddler clothing. Here’s some of the questions I asked Kim:

WHERE DID THE NAME COME FROM?

The name “Tuku” derived from the Venda word “matuku” which means a small thing. Being from the Limpopo Province, Venda is one of the predominant languages spoken there.

Tuku

WHEN DID YOU START TUKU?

Tuku officially started in January 2016.

WHERE DID YOU GET THE IDEA FROM?

I started making gifts for friends inspired by African Animals, people who saw the gifts wanted to order some of the products and that is how it started.

DESCRIBE YOUR PRODUCT AND TARGET MARKET

Handmade, 100% cotton, long and short sleeve babygrows, long and short sleeve t-shirts, neckchief bibs, nursing covers, dummy clips, headbands and accessories. All with a truly African feel.

A unique gift for any foreign tourist or family member, or as a special one of a kind gift for baby showers.

Tuku2

WHAT ARE YOUR DAILY HIGHS AND LOWS IN BEING AN ENTREPRENEUR

Financially starting a small business is tough, relying on suppliers can be stressful as they don’t always deliver on time.

Working for myself allows me to be flexible, creative and independent which I thoroughly enjoy.

WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE TO OTHER ENTREPRENEURS OUT THERE

Make sure you don’t forget why you started the business (the love and passion for your product/service must be retained). This way when times get tough, you can still feel positive.

WHERE DO YOU SEE TUKU IN 5 YEARS TIME?

I see Tuku being stocked in small retail outlets.

Tuku (My favourite Tuku design, ordered a bunny one like this for Sienna)

WHERE CAN WE FIND YOU AND TUKU

Tuku can be found on Facebook, Page is called: Tuku

0845262168

kimbristow@rocketmail.com

Instagram: Tuku2016

Have a look at the pictures and order from me. Delivery will be organized.

Kim is also at the Field & Study market, every third Saturday of the month.

FS Market flyer (A6)

Leave a Reply

